North Carolina’s Truck Accident Liability Laws Protect Your Safety
Special requirements for commercial drivers and trucking companies
North Carolina imposes stricter requirements on licensing and insurance liability coverage on commercial drivers and trucking companies than on other types of drivers. These rules help ensure the safety of other motorists on the road and get negligent truck drivers to pay damages for the more severe injuries that typically arise from commercial vehicle accidents.
The Law Firm of John C. Hensley, Jr., P.C. has 27 years of experience and a sole focus on personal injury claims. Our lawyers explain how the specific laws governing tractor-trailers and long-haul drivers affect the liability determination in your auto accident case. We advise you on the impact certain regulations have on negligence matters when truck drivers violate these rules.
Trucking safety measures mandated by North Carolina laws
The North Carolina Governor’s Highway Safety Program issues important guidelines for commercial trucking companies, including:
- Carrying the mandatory minimum insurance coverage of between $50,000 and $750,000 — depending on the weight of the vehicle — to cover personal injury and property damage
- Submitting to vehicle inspections
- Complying with weight and load restrictions
Commercial driver qualifications and rules
Commercial drivers have a tremendous responsibility. One careless action can result in a catastrophic truck accident. For this reason, drivers are subject to strict rules regarding:
- Licensure: The driver must hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and endorsements for the specific class of vehicle
- Age: The minimum age to acquire a CDL is at least 21 years old to operate interstate and 18 years old if solely working in North Carolina
- Medical conditions: A biannual exam tests for medical conditions that pose safety risks
- Substance testing: Public transit drivers agree to submit to drug and alcohol testing
- Impaired driving: A commercial driver with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 or greater can be charged with DWI
- Work and rest hours: NC laws limit driving to 11 hours after 10 hours off-duty and to 70 hours in an eight-day period for drivers carrying property, and restricts driving to 10 hours after eight hours off-duty for drivers carrying passengers, with some exceptions
Understand how the specific trucking laws affect your claim to compensation
To hear more about commercial vehicle statutes and how they affect your case, call The Law Firm of John C. Hensley, Jr., P.C. at 828-348-0092 or contact us online. We evaluate your claim at a free initial consultation. Our firm takes all auto wreck claims on contingency.